James Baxter, President

James Baxter has been a journalist for more than 25 years, and is the founding editor and publisher of iPolitics.ca, an independent, non-partisan daily news service. A third-generation journalist, Baxter has spent more than 25 years as a sportswriter, political journalist, bureau chief and editorial writer. After covering politics in Ottawa and Alberta, Baxter won a 2008 Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University, where he focused his studies on international trade law and the future of the media industry. An Ottawa native, Baxter holds degrees in international relations, journalism, and media administration.

Hugh Winsor, Vice-President

Hugh Winsor is a former political columnist with the Globe and Mail and remains a member of the Parliamentary Press Gallery. His association with the National Press Club Foundation and its successor goes back to his first assignment to Ottawa in 1973. He was a recipient of the NPC’s Charles Lynch award for outstanding political journalism and was part of the group that initiated the club’s World Press Freedom luncheons and international cartoon competitions. He left the Globe in 1982 to join the CBC’s flagship public affairs program, The Journal, but returned to the paper as Ottawa Bureau Chief in 1984. He is also a fellow of Queen’s University’s School of Policy Studies. In 2005, he was made a member of the Order of Canada.

Phil Gibson, Treasurer

Phil Gibson is a communications consultant and lifelong member of press clubs. Starting out, he spent a decade in daily journalism at the provincial and national levels, where he wrote for Southam Newspapers in Hamilton and Ottawa.  He is a former president of the Hamilton Press Club. Another 20 years as a federal communications director saw him working in northern and aboriginal affairs, the environment and national security.  He returned to his journalism roots as a weekly online columnist at ipolitics.ca in the spring of 2013.

Lois Siegel, Secretary

Lois Siegel is a filmmaker, casting director, writer, photographer, professor, and musician who has many accolades to her credit, including being named one of the Capital City’s Top 50 in 2002 by Ottawa Life Magazine. She has worked as a freelance photographer for the Ottawa Citizen, the Ottawa Business Journal, and Capital Style Magazine, and currently shoots for Diplomat Magazine and writes film reviews for The Glebe Report. She was one of nine photographers chosen to shoot the Rolling Stones when they played Ottawa in 2005, and her documentary film Baseball Girls aired on OXYGEN, a women’s TV network partially by Oprah Winfrey. Her 1990 film Stunt People won a Genie Award for Best Short Documentary.

The Hon. Sheila Copps, Past-President

The Honourable Sheila Copps was one of Canada’s foremost female politicians, entering politics in 1981 as the first Liberal to win the provincial riding of Hamilton Centre in 50 years. She was elected Member of Parliament for Hamilton East in 1984, and re-elected in five successive elections. She was the first woman appointed deputy prime minister, and served 10 years in the federal Cabinet, including as Minister of the Environment and Minister of Canadian Heritage. Copps has in recent years has been working both in French and English as a journalist, broadcaster, and political commentator, and she is the author of two biographical works, Nobody’s Baby and Worth Fighting For. She was appointed an officer of the Order of Canada in December 2012.


  • Jorge Berrera
  • Rosaleen Dickson
  • Roxanne Brousseau-Félio
  • Diane Schmolka
  • Scott Taylor